What Goes Into a Newborn Session | San Ramon Newborn Photographer | Angie Ochoa Photography

One of my favorite kinds of photography is newborn photography. I LOVE these precious little ones, so brand new. What an incredible honor I have, to be able to capture their newborn beauty, before they grow too quickly!

I wanted to just take a little time, and let you know what all goes into one of my newborn sessions.San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer Newborn session with Angie Ochoa Photography generally take about three hours to shoot. But that is not the only amount of time that goes into a session. It takes me about an hour to set up and an hour to take down and put everything away. I don’t have a fancy studio, though one day, I would love to have a studio space to call my own!

I have baskets, blankets, crates, bowls, fur rugs, wraps, headbands, tiny newborn clothing, hats, halos, basket fillers, backdrops, a big newborn beanbag for posing, a frame that holds fabric that goes over that newborn beanbag. Alamo Newborn Photographer - Baby Y 30 When a family contacts me about doing newborn photos, one of the big questions I ask them, besides gender of the baby, is “Do you have a nursery theme, or color scheme?”

The reason that I ask this question, is because I want to have things ready so that I can photograph their bundle of joy using props and such in the colors of their nursery. This takes some time, so this is one reason it’s good to book your session when you’re in your second trimester. This way, I have enough time to pull things together that I might not already have. I will do 3-4 different set-ups with several different poses in each set-up. Then, parents can create a beautiful collage of sorts, to display in their nursery, or their living room. I want all of the photos to be able to be displayed together if that is the desire of the parents.

San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer Once I have most of my props and things pulled out, I will set the central heat to about 85 degrees, so that baby is nice and toasty. Yes, I get HOT! I mean SWEATY HOT! And I typically don’t sweat a lot. But when I do newborn sessions, I do! Sorry, I know that might be a little TMI. San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer

I am very careful about making sure baby is completely safe at all times. I’m down on my knees for much of the session. Sometimes I’m holding baby, rocking them to sleep, while on my knees. Sometimes, I’m holding a firm hand on them just to get them to settle into a good sleepy position. Let me tell you, newborn photography is not for the weak! There are times when I’m leaning over a basket or beanbag for 10 minutes or more, just to ensure that baby is in a good spot and sleeping.San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer After the session is over, I wash, fold, put away all of the items that I have used. Sometimes I have help from my family, but many times, it’s just me putting it all away. Then, I try to get a little sneak peek up on Instagram or Facebook.San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer The real fun comes when I go to edit. I love seeing all of the beautiful photos, and sometimes it’s tough for me to weed through images to pick the very best! I usually will end up with about 20-25 images if it’s just baby, and about 30-35 if it’s baby and other family members. My processing time is probably about 6 hours or more for a newborn photo session.San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer Once I have finished editing the photos, I will set up a viewing and ordering appointment for my clients. I love getting to see their reactions when they first see the photos. That is nothing short of priceless! While it’s hard on my body to do these sessions, they are truly one of my favorite types of session. I LOVE MY JOB!

San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San-Ramon-Newborn-Photographer, Danville-Newborn-Photographer, Angie-Ochoa-Photography, Pleasanton-Newborn-Photographer, Alamo-Newborn-Photographer, Dublin-Newborn-Photographer San Ramon California Newborn Photographer - Baby E 1 copyIf you are interested in booking a newborn session, please email me at info@angieochoaphotography.com.

Have a blessed day!

Angie

Leave a Reply

